Integration’s Celebration

by Patrick Carmody, Museum Educator

July 2nd, 1964, President of the United States Lyndon B. Johnson signs the Civil Rights Act into law, bringing an end to an era of legal oppression and segregation in public spaces. That same month Jekyll Island was having its own Civil Rights case being argued, Civil Rights leaders including W.W. Law, President of the Savannah NAACP, and Civil Rights lawyers Constance Baker Motley and Vernon Jordan, successfully argued in the court of Judge Frank Hooper for the desegregation of Jekyll Island State Park. Until that point, Jekyll Island’s guests had been separated based on race, with the southern portion of the island reserved just for African Americans, and everything north of St. Andrews Beach on Jekyll was exclusively for White guests and residents.

The northern two-thirds of Jekyll used by whites offered access to many great amenities including the Aquarama, Gould Auditorium, several hotels and restaurants, the Jekyll Island Museum, and all of Jekyll’s golf courses. The Black portion of Jekyll Island was much more limited in its offerings, with the Dolphin Club Hotel, St. Andrews Beach, the Beach Pavilion, and the St. Andrews Auditorium being the only avenues for enjoyment.

With no accessibility to the exclusive amenities on the “Whites only” portion of the Island, the early years of the 1960s saw Civil Rights activists begin testing the enforcement of segregation on Jekyll Island. Access to the golf courses was denied to several people under various excuses, such as staff putting out a sign stating the course was “Closed for Watering”. Another time when a group looking to enjoy golf were told they couldn’t play because they were black, and the golf courses sprinklers were switched on to deter the group from playing for the day.

Swinging Forward: African American Golf on Jekyll Island – February 2 @ 6:00 pm

Dr. Lane Demas, author of Game of Privilege: An African American History of Golf and a professor of history at Central Michigan University, will present the History of African American Golfers in the Southeast and on Jekyll Island! Dr. Demas will highlight the history surrounding integration of golf courses in the Southeast during the 1950s and 1960s, Jekyll’s history with integrating golf, and the beginning of the first integrated golf tournament on the island, known as The Southeastern or the Classic. This lecture will be held on the 2nd floor of the Golf Clubhouse on February 27th at 6 PM.

All of these incidents of denial to Jekyll’s offerings for African Americans culminated into a Federal Court Case, with its verdict delivered on July 27, 1964, by Judge Frank A Hooper Jr.  Jekyll Island was to be immediately integrated. Full accessibility from the Clam Creek Pier to the southern tip of Jekyll Island was made the law of the land, with Jekyll truly becoming a State Park for every Georgian to enjoy, regardless of skin color.

To celebrate this incredible moment of history, the 60th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act, and the desegregation of Jekyll Island, Mosaic Museum’s lobby exhibit was transformed to show the unique history of African Americans from this era. Everything from the story of Maurice Ruddick to the creation of St. Andrews Beach, and the history of the Southeastern Golf Tournament, are on display at Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum and are well worth a visit.

The Wander at St. Andrews – February 1 and 8, 10:00 am and 2:00 pm

The Wander St. Andrews is a guided walking tour of the Wanderer Memory Trail, elaborating on the history of the Wanderer Incident, the history of the survivors, and the Gullah-Geechee. In addition to this history, a guided tour of the St. Andrews beach park will highlight the beautiful ecosystem, the plant life, and the dynamic landscape of the south end.

More information …

Black History on Jekyll Island

The African American roots of Jekyll Island run deep and trace back hundreds of years. Explore the lives of those that shaped the course of history and the progress they made possible, as told by Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum.

Dolphin Club Days – June 14 and 28

Dolphin Club Days tours will return this summer with the return of musician Ace Winn to perform live music. An experience YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS!

Mosaic’s 4th Anniversary

by Allison Dupuis, JIA Museum Educator

This April, Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum, celebrates its fourth anniversary. Thousands of visitors have walked through the museum’s big red doors to experience Jekyll Island’s history. And what a rich history it is! In the museum gallery, visitors can listen to accounts of Wanderer survivors or a recording of the first transcontinental phone call, spearheaded by Jekyll Island Club member and AT&T president Theodore Vail in 1915. They can virtually “try on” outfits from the Gilded Age, explore an eagle’s nest, or take a spin around the island on a Red Bug. The museum’s lobby entrance, which features rotating exhibits, is preparing for its next exhibit launch in April as well. The gift shop pays homage to the building’s historical roots—it features some of the original structure that made this building the former Jekyll Island Club stables, complete with hay loft and a single (facsimile) horse.

Mosaic has certainly grown and remained dynamic since its opening day in 2019. Visitation numbers have grown, especially since the museum reopened after temporary closures due to the pandemic. In fact, at the end of the 2022 fiscal year, Mosaic’s annual visitation exceeded 50,000 people! Visitors take part in the museum’s trolley tours of the Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark district, which run four times daily. They also come to the museum for special historic tours and programs, which have continued to grow over the past two calendar years. These programs have taken guests all over the island, from St. Andrews Beach for a Dolphin Club Days tour to the Horton House for Pistols and Privateers. In the near future, Mosaic will begin to host a slate of new and exciting programs. Guests can enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at Mistletoe Cottage with April’s Cottage Spotlight, or can step back in time with Jekyll Island Club visitor Jean Struthers as part of the museum’s ongoing Living History Presents program.

There are exciting physical additions at Mosaic, too! Work has recently begun in earnest on the exterior paddock,” Mosaic’s outdoor education space. The paddock will host annual and seasonal programming and events. Work on the space is expected to be completed in mid-April, and the museum looks forward to utilizing this space to its fullest potential. To learn more or give to  this new addition, visit Mosaic Initiative. Make sure to keep up with all things Jekyll Island history by visiting Mosaic’s website.

A Year of Progress at Hollybourne Cottage

by Allison Dupuis, JIA Museum Educator

It’s hard to miss Hollybourne Cottage on a trip through the Historic District. The Cottage’s unique structure, enormous side porch, and tabby exterior attract curious visitors every day. These same features speak to the Maurice family’s love for Hollybourne and their devotion to preservation on Jekyll Island. Charles and Charlotte Maurice spearheaded the first rehabilitation of Horton House and the Dubignon cemetery, two other tabby structures on the island, in 1898. Even after Charles’ and Charlotte’s deaths, their children, especially their daughters Marion and Margaret, maintained their devotion to Jekyll Island and spent every winter season at Hollybourne until 1942.

Today, Hollybourne Cottage is a fascinating preservation work in progress. Throughout the past year, Jekyll Island Authority Historic Preservationist Taylor Davis and a host of volunteers have worked to make important improvements to the cottage’s exterior and interior features.

The most visible project from the outside is Hollybourne’s roof—the cottage’s original shingles were made of old growth cypress, and the team recently undertook a major roof preservation project. Hollybourne gained new, high-quality cedar shingles that are fire, rot, and bug resistant, aiding in the future preservation of the cottage.

Several interior features were upgraded as well. A stove hood in the service wing of the house had been removed from the building for eight years for stabilization and paint sampling to retain its original color. Volunteers rehung this stove hood in early 2022, along with the original basement door, which also underwent significant preservation.

In the dining room, the team continues work on the ceiling, including new lath (wooden strips) which will be left exposed. The ceiling project, along with several other projects in the dining room, aim to return the room to an interpretable level while leaving “windows to the past” to highlight construction methods.

Hollybourne Cottage’s story is ongoing. The most recent issue of 31•81, the Magazine of Jekyll Island, highlighted one of the cottage’s remarkable preservation stories. As Preservation Month approaches in May, make sure to visit Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum for opportunities to explore Hollybourne’s unique place in Jekyll Island history or click HERE to participate in the restoration of this beautiful piece of history.

Finding Freedom in the War of 1812

By Andrea Marroquin, JIA Curator

Amidst the War of 1812, a proclamation promised freedom to enslaved people who deserted to the British.  This proclamation resulted in what has been called “one of the most extraordinarily effective mass military emancipations ever seen in the United States.”  Thousands of African Americans are believed to have been liberated from this vicinity, including many from Jekyll Island.

British forces under the command of Rear Admiral Sir George Cockburn first burned Washington D.C. and failed in an attack on Fort McHenry at Baltimore, Maryland (inspiring “The Star Spangled Banner”), before heading south.  The plan was to terrorize the southeastern coast of the United States with attacks on Charleston and Savannah. 

Meanwhile, the British invaded and occupied nearby Cumberland Island and conducted a series of smaller raids along the Georgia coastline.  British ships attacked Jekyll Island several times, with raids continuing even after the war was already over.  Christophe Dubignon later testified “my house was plundered at four different times by said British.” 

One of those raids took place on November 26, 1814, when the crew of the HMS. Lacedemonian struck anchor, proceeded to Horton House, and attacked.  Henry and Amelia Dubignon, Christophe’s son and daughter-in-law, later testified that the British sailors “immediately commenced plundering everything of value they could lay hands on, destroying what they could not carry off.”

When the British departed, 28 enslaved men and women from Jekyll Island escaped with them.  Christophe Dubignon documented the names, occupations, ages, and prices of the people that he complained “did desert from him.”  This list included two children, sixteen field hands, and many skilled laborers, such as a carpenter, blacksmith, sailmaker, fisherman, packer, carter, shoemaker, seamstress, and cook.

Shortly after this incident, the Treaty of Ghent was signed on December 24, 1814, formally ending the War of 1812.  The following March, local planters sought the return of property and slaves as required by the Treaty of Ghent.  Admiral Cockburn refused to return any former slaves unless they wanted to leave.  He argued that they became free the moment they arrived on British soil, and that his British ships of war qualified as such. 

In April 1815, neighboring planter John Couper of St. Simons Island travelled to Bermuda “in hopes he might induce them to return.”  As he boarded the frigate Brune to meet with the black refugees on board, a former Dubignon slave named Frederick cried out: “That is Mr. Couper.  I wish my master was in his place.  I should like to shove him down into the sea!” 

Clearly, the refugees were not interested in returning to a life of slavery.  Instead, they sailed to Bermuda and then on to Trinidad or to Nova Scotia, where they faced hunger and hardships but retained their freedom.  Vice Admiral Sir Alexander Cochrane (Commander-in-Chief of the North American Station and Admiral Cockburn’s direct report) declared “that none of those persons have been kept in a state of slavery but suffered to go where they thought proper. . . . and those who performed any work were regularly paid for same.”

To explore more of the island’s eventful history, visit Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum, where tours and exhibits are available daily.

Mosaic Museum – Happy 2nd Anniversary!

By Michael Scott, JIA Director of Historic Resources

As Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum approaches its 2nd anniversary, we look back on a year filled with challenges but also see many success stories. On the eve of the 1st anniversary, plans to celebrate were interrupted with what turned out to be a health crisis that few, if any, had ever anticipated. While the COVID-19 pandemic did cause some disruption early on, the Mosaic Museum took a proactive approach to minimizing impact as safely as possible. Upon reopening our doors, visitors were greeted with increased sanitization of commonly touched surfaces, reduced capacity in the Gallery and on trolley tours to allow for social distancing and an increase in engaging outdoor programming. Because of this, Mosaic reopened earlier than many other spaces around the nation.

To welcome back visitors, new opportunities and programming was introduced. In coordination with the Authority’s Conservation Department, Ranger Walks to see the island’s active bald eagle nest now begin and end at Mosaic, allowing visitors to experience the museum as a launching point for both natural and cultural history. Additionally, for the first time, Hollybourne Cottage opened to the public for regular tours. Visitors are able to see the inside of the cottage while staff actively work to conserve, preserve, and restore portions of the home. Increasing guest access to the historic district, expanded tours are now in play on Jekyll’s famous red trolleys. While enjoying the fresh air, guests are able to ride thru the historic district and learn about the Island’s over 2000 years of history or take a deeper dive into the cottages that represent the gilded age experience of the Jekyll Island Club and its members. Continuing to facilitate the need for social distancing, exciting seasonal programming included Macabre Tales tour and the Holly Jolly Lights tour made the most of the 2020 holiday season. Finally, to help tell some lesser-known stories, the team kicked off a successful series of gallery exhibitions, telling powerful stories in a way that’s never done before.  

As we move toward year three, Mosaic will continue to serve as the ambassador and hub for Jekyll Island’s natural and cultural history. By growing the museum’s place-based learning options and developing new opportunities for exploration, Mosaic will continue to make a visit to Jekyll Island a special event for everyone.

New spaces, places, and stories from the island’s history are under development, which will allow even more visitors to learn about the special role that Jekyll has played in the past and how that connects to the world today. Education is at the heart of any museum’s work, and the Mosaic will continue to serve as a space to reach the broadest range of visitors through its exhibitions, tours, programs, and special events.

If you haven’t yet had an opportunity to experience one of our unique cottage tours that begin at Mosaic, particularly the new Hollybourne Cottage tour, we encourage you to purchase a ticket online to take a peek inside and see years of preservation first-hand.

Caring for Collections

By Andrea Marroquin, JIA Museum Curator

Mosaic, Jekyll Island Museum has launched an artifact conservation program, dedicated to ensuring the long-term care of collections. The goal of the program is to stabilize collection pieces and preserve them for the future. Several recent conservation projects are currently on display and can be enjoyed by guests of the Mosaic.

Have you seen the “ghost tools” on display in the museum’s exhibit gallery? Two tools recovered from Horton House, a planters’ hoe blade and a small trade axe dating from the 1700s to mid-1800s, were actively corroding. The iron objects were cleaned and stabilized to halt their deterioration, and then carefully mounted in front of a transparent background. When viewed from a certain angle, missing portions of the tools become visible.

Museum staff consulted with an art conservator to clean and stabilize a 1931 oil painting by Warren Sheppard depicting the slave ship Wanderer. Treatment involved cleaning the painting, consolidating loose paint, addressing paint loss, and replacing a protective varnish. This project enabled the painting to be placed on exhibit for the first time in decades, as part of the museum’s efforts to share the story of the Wanderer Survivors with the public.

Recently, museum staff brought a circa 1890 carriage out of storage and gave it a gentle cleaning, leather treatment, and fumigation. The carriage was placed on display in the Mosaic lobby as part of “In the Service of Others” – an exhibit detailing the African American community’s vital role in the development of the Jekyll Island Club. In the exhibit, the carriage highlights the story of Charlie Hill, a long-time coachman and caretaker for the Maurice family, who worked on the island for more than five decades.

This year, Jekyll Island also celebrates the 100th Anniversary of Faith Chapel’s Tiffany window. In recognition of the landmark moment, and with a grant from the Friends of Historic Jekyll Island, art glass conservators investigated the needs for the stained-glass window’s ongoing care and preservation. They are currently developing recommendations for conserving this art glass masterpiece for the future. 

Stay tuned for more updates highlighting the museum’s continuing efforts to preserve the past. If you would like to provide support for these type of collections projects, text JekyllMosaic + any donation amount to (844) 889-2692.