Built in 1891, Hollybourne Cottage, constructed by bridge-builder Charles Stewart Maurice, was the only cottage of that era assembled using tabby, a concrete mixture traditionally made with lime, sand, and shell.
The years were not kind to what was once one of the island’s showcase cottages. Thus, the preservation of Hollybourne has been a project near and dear to many hearts for over two decades.
Although there is still much work to be accomplished, renovations are far enough along for the house to be open occasionally for private and featured TOURS. Its preservation story is too beautiful not to share. Soon, we hope the cottage will be open to the public on a regular basis—for the very first time.
Join the Jekyll Island Foundation to help preserve and interpret this historic cottage. Click to GIVE NOW.