Charles Stewart Maurice from Athens, Pennsylvania, was a bridge engineer and partner in the Union Bridge Company. Maurice was one of the founding members of the Jekyll Island Club. He and his wife were known as the Club's historians and were recognized for their knowledge of local history and ecology. These interests were reflected in the design of the cottage they built on Jekyll Island in 1890 as a winter retreat.
Hollybourne, designed by William Day, is one of the most unique buildings, architecturally, within the Jekyll Island Club Compound. It is the only structure that utilized the native material of tabby. Maurice also included some unusual elements in the design of the cottage using bridge engineering techniques.
The Jekyll Island Museum created its Historic Preservation Division in 1986. In the 20 years of its existence, 29 of the island's 33 historic structures have been restored, including most of the buildings still standing in the historic district.
Hollybourne is the last of the Club Members' cottages awaiting preservation. Over the years, the structure has suffered significant water damage, which has affected the wood sheathing, plaster, paint and floors. The cost of stabilizing Hollybourne is estimated at over one million dollars.
To raise funds for the preservation of the cottage, the Jekyll Island Museum has created a collectible Christmas ornament. The 3-dimensional ornament is 24-karat gold plated, and is the first in a series to be produced for the historic district. A percentage of the proceeds from the sale of this ornament will be donated to the Hollybourne Fund, managed by the Jekyll Island Foundation, to assist in the preservation of the building.
To place an order for these collectible ornaments, contact the Jekyll Island Museum gift shop at (912) 635-4168. For more information about the Jekyll Island Foundation's fundraising efforts and ways to contribute contact the Foundation office at 912-635-4402 or firstname.lastname@example.org.